Return to Headlines

St. Bernard Parish Names Teachers of the Year

Press Release

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE                                                 CONTACT: Alexandra Schneider

Date: 11/19/2018           PHONE: (504) 301-2000 


St. Bernard Parish Names Teachers of the Year

Twelve exceptional St. Bernard Parish educators were recently named by their schools as Teacher of the Year.   Winners of this prestigious title are selected by their peers for their impact on students and families - in and out of the classroom.

This year’s winners were Erin Larsen (Andrew Jackson Middle), Katie McNabb (Arabi Elementary), Marcelle Montgomery (Chalmette Elementary), Chris Dier (Chalmette High), Erin Johnston (Davies Elementary), Jill Gaillot (Gauthier Elementary), Katie Geeck (Lacoste Elementary), Rachel Walsh (Meraux Elementary), Michelle Foland (Rowley Alternative), Shannon Geraci (St. Bernard Middle), Sheri LeBouef (Smith Elementary), and Sharon Landry (Trist Middle).

Superintendent Doris Voitier said these committed professionals demonstrate excellence in teaching and go above and beyond for the students of St. Bernard Parish.

“The Teacher of the Year program acknowledges and celebrates some of our district’s most exceptional educators,” Voitier said. "These teachers’ commitment to student success exemplifies all that is good in our public schools.  We are proud to have them in our district.”

These school winners were also finalists for the parish-wide Teacher of the Year. After interviews with a panel of judges consisting of community leaders and educators, one winner was selected at the elementary, middle, and high school level.

Voitier said these three winners represent best practices and their commitment to their students is extraordinary.

“We are happy to announce that Erin Johnston, Sharon Landry, and Chris Dier are our three district-wide winners,” Voitier said.  “The judges had a challenging time in choosing from some of the best teachers in our system, but these three are truly deserving of the accolades.”

The three district winners will participate in the state-wide competition in the spring.