Return to Headlines

Class of 2019 Celebrates at Annual Awards Night

The best and brightest of the Chalmette High School Class of 2019 gathered in the Chalmette High School Cultural Arts Center on April 24 for the school’s annual Senior Awards Night; a night in which about 70 seniors were recognized for their hard work, awarded over a million dollars in scholarship money, and named as coveted Golden Owls for their class.  While all of the scholarships and awards are outstanding, a few of the awards given were of particular prestige.


Two seniors will join the ranks of nine other CHS graduates who have received the prestigious Posse Scholarship – a four year, full-academic scholarship valued at approximately $150,000 per student. Hailey Abrams will be attending the University of Notre Dame and Brian Williams will be attending Tulane University as part of the Posse program.


Senior Sage Montz was recognized for the outstanding achievement of completing 13 years of school with perfect attendance.  


Senior Lukas Caruso, who has been an active member of the ROTC program at CHS for four years, was awarded the Tulane ROTC Scholarship in the amount of $21,040.00.


To cap off scholarship awards, the Arlene and Joseph Meraux Charitable Foundation annually supports the graduating class with scholarships to further their education. This year the foundation gave 60 scholarships for a total gift amounting to $240,000.


The night ended with the most coveted award a graduating senior can receive - the title of Golden Owl.  Senior class sponsor Tom Dugger said the award began 31 years ago and is awarded based on faculty nominations and voting.  This year ten students were named as Golden Owls: Nicholas Powell, Ronnie Prestenbach, Emily Vu, Hayden Williams, Eryn Loria, Brian Williams, Hailey Abrams, Abigale Licciardi, Jaida Alphonso, and Holly Harper.





Semper Fidelis Music Award - United States Marine Corps

Eryn Loria

United States Marine Corps Award for Scholastic Excellence

Ronnie Prestenbach Jr.

United States Marine Corps Award for Outstanding Athlete

Nicholas Powell

Business and Professional Women’s Club Scholarship

Tessy Kolar, Raeann Koehler, Jaida Alphonso

Posse Scholarship

Hailey Abrams, Brian Williams

Lauren Saubat Memorial Student Council Award

Diamond Tate

Rotary Club of St. Bernard

Douglas Eiserloh, Holly Harper, Raeann Koehler, Emily Vu

Firefighters Association Awards

Abigale Licciardi, Holly Harper

Tulane Book Award

Angela Romero Barron

DAR Award

Eryn Loria

Trudy Foret Science Award

Aseel Jebreel

Candy Zeairs Mathematics Award

Emily Vu

St. Bernard Chapter of the Louisiana Volunteers for Family and Community

Holly Harper

Perfect Attendance Award

Sage Montz

St. Bernard Retired Teachers’ Scholarship to Nunez

Kylei Ubas

St. Bernard School Board Employees Federal Credit Union

Christian Kline

Joseph Davies Scholarship

Emily Vu

Ethel Pourciau/SBH Memorial Scholarship

Precious Charles

Islenos Scholarship

Nicholas Powell

John Richard Bienvenu Key Club Service Scholarship

Scotty Thornton

St. Bernard Kiwanis Foundation Leadership Scholarship

Emily Vu

Gulf Coast Bank Key Club Scholarship

Emily Vu

St. Bernard School Board Members’ Scholarship

Patrick Oliver

Joseph Accardo Scholarship

Eryn Loria

Betty Polk Moody Award

Eryn Loria

Al Waller Memorial Award

Ronnie Prestenbach Jr.

CHS Faculty Awards

Aiden Edler, Jaidia Alphonso, Glen Palmisano

Milton Sand Memorial Art Scholarship

Allison Deffes

Pam Wegener Legacy Scholarship

Eryn Loria

CHS Alumni Association Award

Hailey Abrams

High Flying Owl Awards

Aseel Jebreel, Megan Nguyen, Hayden Williams

Tulane ROTC Scholarship

Lukas Caruso

Golden Owl Awards

Nicholas Powell, Brian Williams, Hailey Abrams, Jaida Alphonso, Ronnie Prestenbach Jr., Emily Vu, Abigale Licciardi, Eryn Loria, Hayden Williams, Holly Harper



Meraux Foundation Scholarship Recipients:

Alayna Abadie, Hailey Abrams, Paul Alfonso Jr., Sierra Allemand, Amber Allen, Elizabeth Alphonso, Jaida Alphonso, Spencer Beck, Dustin Bell, Corrine Billiot, Tiffany Brandt, Hydiya Butler, Ashley Canas, Haylie Creason, Stormie Crowell, Amy Dang, Allison Deffes, Aiden Edler, Layla Favalora, India Flowers, Tyler Fogarty, James Frazier, Lexie Guerra, Falyn Hardouin, Holly Harper, Jarnell Hayes III, Trevor Hume, Aseel Jebreel, Christian Kline, Raeann Koehler, Ethan Konnecker, Gabriell Konnecker, Abigale Licciardi, Alondra Lombongtare, Eryn Loria, Jan Nicole Magundayao, Erica McCormick, Dylan Meredith, Sage Montz, Bao Nguyen, Kaitlyn Nguyen, Megan Nguyen, Patrick Oliver, Glen Palmisano III, Daniel Perez, Nicholas Powell, Ronnie Prestenbach Jr., Gage Randazzo, India Rhodes, Mariam Sanogo, Victoria Schaeffer, Derek Thompson, My Tra, Emily Tran, Kayla Tran, Emily Vu, Brian Williams, Hayden Williams, Diana Willoz, Joshua Zaldivar